How the Chapelhow Enablers Are Essential to the Delivery of Care

Francesca Mahoney


The Chapelhow framework was established around six enablers, these are assessment, communication, risk management, managing uncertainty, record keeping and documentation, professional judgement and decision making. These six enablers help to make up the foundations that all healthcare professionals need in order to develop their skills to the best potential to maximise the level of care delivered. This article will discuss two enablers, risk management and communication, in relation to the care of a 74 year old dementia patient. It was evident that these two enablers link together to provide holistic, patient-centred care and to highlight the importance of effective communication.


Chapelhow, Risk Management, Communication, Dementia

Full Text:



  • There are currently no refbacks.

Copyright (c) 2018 Francesca Mahoney

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

Hosted by LJMU Library Journal Hosting Service ISSN: 2398-6875